Thursday, March 13, 2014

Caught By the Light - Coues Deer 14x18 - sold

  This is a Coues Whitetail Deer.  They live primarily in the foothills and mountains of Mexico and southern Arizona.  They are smaller than their cousins to the north, gray in color and elusive, which can make them difficult to spot.
My Website

Friday, January 31, 2014

Morning Sentinel 8x12

  An oak tree stands against the morning sky.  In the tree is a Red-tailed Hawk waiting for things to warm up.
My Website

Monday, January 6, 2014

Chamber of Commerce Day 12x8


  Over the past couple of years I have been drawn back to the town where I grew up with the help of the new Santa Paula Art Museum.  The depot has been a trademark of Santa Paula, CA but I have always associated it with the giant Moreton Bay Fig Tree across the street.  I chose this angle to include both.
My Website

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Harbor Sunset - Santa Barbara 12x16

  I was drawn to this scene by the last rays of sun hitting the cliffs on a calm evening near the harbor in Santa Barbara, California.
My Website

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

All Aglow 5x7

  I spent a few hours with some mute swans a couple of days ago.  I waited until just before sunset to create this back lit scene.  They were very cooperative.
My Website

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Evening Sprig 14x21

   
 I spotted these pintail ducks resting near a small patch of reeds late in the day.  Sprig is a common nickname for this type of duck.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

2014 Barn Calendar

  The 2014 Lang Barn Calendar is now available.  It features 12 images of my paintings depicting barns from around the United States.  Contact me for more information.
My Website

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Friday, August 9, 2013

Great Horned Owl 10x8 - sold

  I have done several studies of Great Horned Owls.  I never get tired of trying to capture that serious look.
My Website

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Monday, August 5, 2013

Friday, August 2, 2013

Hiding Spot 5x7

  I have a lot of these Valley Quail around my home.  This one is emerging from his hiding spot after a Cooper's Hawk flew by.
My Website

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Tuesday, July 23, 2013